Florida Soil Scientist Certification

A certification for soil scientists in Florida has been instituted in cooperation with FAESS and SSSA.

Certification Requirements

Must possess a CPSS from SSSA and successfully complete a FAESS Florida soils calibration course at a frequency of every three years. Soil scientists are encouraged to attend the course annually.

Florida Calibration Course

This course is offered as a required component to soil certification in Florida as stated above. It also is open to any soil scientist wishing to bettern understand Florida soils. A CPSS is NOT a prerequisite for the course. Contact Joe Schuster for details.

Greg Brannon

Auburn, AL – smectite2@yahoo.com

James Cooper
Dept. of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Tallahassee, FL – james.cooper@fdacs.gov

Tasha M. Dailey
Chief Environmental Scientist
Regulation Division
Southwest Florida Water Management District
tasha.dailey@swfwmd.state.fl.us

Scott Franz
CFL Solutions
Orlando, FL – cflsoilsolutions@cfl.rr.com

David Mahnken, CPSS
Senior Scientist – Resource Environmental Solutions, LLC
Certified Professional Soil Scientist

dmahnken@res.us 

Oren Reedy
O.C. Reedy and Associates
Smithville, TN – orenreedy@gmail.com

Travis Richardson
T. Richardson Soils & Environmental
Gainesville, FL – Travis@richardsonsoils.com 

Greg Sawka
Southeast Soil & Environmental Service, Inc
Ft. Pierce, FL – gsawka@juno.com

Joseph Schuster
Ecological Resource Consultants
Panama City Beach, FL – jschuster@ecoresource.com

Albert Stoddard III
AAS Consulting
Palatka, FL – astoddard3@gmail.com

Jessica Veenstra
Flagler College
St. Augustine, FL – jessicaveenstra@gmail.com